T&T vs Windwards in Cricket and Football

T&T face islands from the Windwards in our two major sports this weekend, football and cricket.

Firstly, Trinidad and Tobago's Senior national cricket team for the final round Professional Cricket League 4-Day Regional match aganst the Windward Islands today Friday, March 13, 2016 at the National Cricket Centre in Balmain, Couva. Neither team are in a chance to win the title but are playing for pride and to prepare for the Test arena, as in the case of the returning Darren Bravo.

Bravo is one of two changes to the team who faced Barbados at the same venue last weekend. Skipper Jason Mohammed has been omitted after some indifferent form this season. In addition,young opener Jeremy Solozano has been replaced by veteran Justin Guillen who has been doing will in the domestic games while captaining Queen's Park CC.  

He does not come in as a replacement captain as well though as Yannick Ottley has been appointed captain for the match. The entire squad for this weekend's game is as follows: 


T&T Squad:

1. Kyle Hope

2. Justin Guillen

3. Darren Bravo

4. Narsingh Deonarine

5. Ewart Nicholson

6. Yannick Ottley

7. Steven Katwaroo

8. Imran Khan

9. Rayad Emrit

10. Jon Russ Jagessar

12. Bryan Charles

13. Yannic Cariah

14 Marlon Richards

In addition, our men's football team will be facing Grenada this weekend in preparation for a World Cup Qualifier against another windward island, St. Vincent, next Friday. The team for the Grenada game is made up primarily of local based players and allows players on the fringe some game time and the opportunity to stake a claim for spots as the world cup campaign progresses. The only overseas based player is Khaleem Hyland who is searching for gametime, while the team welcomes back playmaker Hughton Hector who has been out of the national team reckoning for over two years.

The entire squad is:

Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Marvin Phillip (Morvant Caledonia United).

Alvin Jones (W Connection), Andre Ettienne (Central FC), Tristan Hodge (W Connection), Jamali Garcia (Defence Force), Kevon Villaroeal (Central FC), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Elijah Belgrave (Police FC), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force).

Sean De Silva (Central FC), Jomal Williams (W Connection), Nathaniel Garcia (Central FC), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Akeem Humphrey (Club Sando), Jason Marcano (Central FC), Leston Paul (Central FC), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo/BEL).

Shahdon Winchester (W Connection), Jerwyn Balthazar (Defence Force), Makesi Lewis (Police FC), Marcus Joseph (Central FC).

Top Stories