Hattrick of Wins for KI is Chutney Soca Monarch

For the third consecutive year KI has copped first prize at the Chutney Soca Monarch with his hit Same Gyal Twice. In the CSM's 21 edition, the 2016 Chutney Soca King walked away with $1 million dollars, after gaining 499 points.

Not too far behind was fellow band mate, Nishard M coming in second place with 490 points and a cash prize of $750 thousand dollars.

Third and fourth place went to last year's Kings Ravi B and Rikki Jai respectively.

Meanwhile in the traditional category, Rooplal G came in first with his song Banai Loongi taking home the grand prize of $150 thousand dollars.

1st KI Persad - 499 points
2nd Nishard M - 490 points
3rd Ravi B - 470 points
4th Rikki Jai - 469 points
5th Kenneth Supersad - 461 points

1st Rooplal G - 479 points
2nd Shiva Lackhan - 464 points
3rd Heeralal Rampartap - 457 points
4th Asha Kamachie - 449 points
5th RT Butkoon - 438 points

Top Stories