Rio Olympic Test for T&T's Stickmen

Akim Toussaint, the 2014 Trinidad and Tobago Hockey Board (TTHB) Player of the Year and Pan American Elite All Star, is the main headline act in an eighteen man hockey squad that left to compete in the Olympic Test Event in Rio de Janiero, Brazil from 24-28 November. While there, T&T will compete against Chile, Mexico and the host team, Brazil.

Also in the squad are veteran goalkeeper Andrey Rocke, the 2013 TTHB Player of the Year Mickell Pierre and Team captain Darren Cowie. Ten of the eighteen players are currently training with the National Under-21 squad in preparation for the Junior Pan American Championships in May, 2016 and this trip will serve as great experience for them. Three players will be expected to make their international debuts during this tournament in the form of Queen's Park CC duo Jarryon Paul and Zachary Clarke and Carib’s Dylan Francis 

The entire squad reads as follows:

Players: Darren Cowie (C), Andrey Rocke (GK), Kwasi Emmanuel (GK), Akim Toussaint, Mickell Pierre, Kiel Murray, Marcus James, Shaquille Daniel, Michael II O’Connor, Jordan Vieira, Kristien Emmanuel, Lyndell Byer, Jarryon Paul, Tariq Marcano, Teague Marcano, Zachary Clarke, Dylan Francis, Che Modeste.

Staff: Glenn Francis (Head Coach), Christabella George-Ford (Manager), Kirth Davis (Asst. Manager), Nicholas Baldeosingh (Videographer), Zynul Khan (Doctor), Karielle De Bique (Physiotherapist), Kevin MacIntyre (Massage Therapist), Shayne Cooper (Trainer)

Top Stories